review

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

LVL Lashes- Worth it?

On Saturday, I popped in to a salon in Leeds city centre called Q61 to try out something I've always wanted to, LVL lashes.


Q61 was lovely- really high-end luxury feel on the inside, and the lady who did my treatment was called Amy. I even got a text from them the day before as both an appointment reminder and an invite to arrive 10 minutes early to enjoy a free coffee and relax.

LVL stands for length, volume, lift, and it is a treatment which takes around 45 minutes and effectively tints and 'perms' your lashes. I'm sure you've all heard of it before by now! A therapist uses a setting serum to straighten your natural lashes at the root (making them look curled up), and then your lashes are tinted, creating the appearance of mascara.

The cost? £45
How long does it last? 6-8 weeks


Before and after! *I'd just had to take my eye makeup off with a baby-wipe just before this was taken hence the red/puffiness!*


With mascara...(and taken at about 7am this morning):









My honest opinion?

I love big lashes. I love wearing layers of mascara. I LOVED when I had eyelash extensions (for the first week and a half anyway! Will do a review on those too soon). I'm a few days in and I'd say I LIKE LVL lashes. They're not thick, black and long enough for me to not wear mascara as I prefer a more glam look. If you are into minimal makeup or a more natural look though these will be perfect.

Not gonna lie, putting on mascara and liquid eyeliner is so difficult and takes some getting used to! The lashes just get in the way a bit, and you end up getting mascara on your brow bone as your lashes are so lifted. Cotton buds are my new best friend, and I found I had to change my mascara technique a bit too to stop them going clumpy.

However, I think that when they drop ever so slightly I'll like them even more and they'll be a little more 'user friendly'!

At night without makeup they look nice, just not as nice as with extensions! But for less cost, no damage to your natural lashes and longer lasting results- they are a brilliant alternative I recommend you all try for yourselves.

Lots of love,
Liv x

LVL Lashes- Worth it?

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Thursday, 12 February 2015

REVIEW: Zoeva Rose Golden Luxury Brush Set


Hey everyone,
I'm SO EXCITED at the arrival of my new babies- the Zoeva Rose Golden Luxury Brush Set.
I can't tell you how long I've been after these; they've just seemed to be sold out on Love-Makeup and BeautyBay, and I was being all stubborn and didn't want to pay in Euros from the official German website.
I kindly got treated to these as an early Valentines present and couldn't be happier...I squealed when they arrived! (my God I'm shallow).


The set includes 8 brushes:
106 Powder Brush
102 Silk Finish Brush
110 Face Shape Brush

127 Luxe Sheer Cheek Brush
142 Concealer Buffer
227 Soft Definer
231 Petite Crease Brush
317 Wing Liner Brush (I personally use this for my brows with Anastasia Beverley Hills Dipbrow Pomade!)


These brushes are SUCH good quality and so soft. I also think they're really good value at £56.95 (+ 
free delivery) as this works out at just over £7 a brush. 
They look so pretty on your dressing table too (rose gold obsessions), and the free pouch that comes with them is now currently home to all my brushes.
My Favourite Brushes...


The Silk Finish brush honestly gives a lovely dewy finish to your foundation and feels so nice on your skin. It's pretty similar to the Expert Face Brush by Real Techniques but a bit softer and move-able (although it is still very dense as a brush which I like!). 


My contouring has never been so quick and easy thanks to this guy! It really gets the angle of your cheekbone nicely whether you're using bronzer or blush. I haven't owned a brush like this before so I can't compare it to any others but I just know I love it!

All the other brushes in the set are lovely too, including the eye brushes. I now am craving the matching Rose Golden Complete Eye Set...uh oh..


Thanks for reading!
Lots of love,

REVIEW: Zoeva Rose Golden Luxury Brush Set

Thursday, 12 February 2015

Saturday, 7 February 2015

REVIEW: Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara


Hey everyone, 
Today I thought I'd review a mascara that I've recently purchased...
Now, I don't usually buy Bourjois mascaras, nor do I particularly rate them generally but I'd heard a bit of hype around this one and really wanted to try it.

The packaging is nice and I do like the brush- on first impressions it looks like it'll make a difference to my lashes as well as combing them out to separate them.
The mascara claims to:
  • Have 16 hour hold (waterproof claims 24 hours)
  • Easy to remove
  • Both Spherical Bristles that 'perfectly wrap lashes for 360 volume',  and Straight Bristles to create 'clump free definition'

I decided to pick up the non-waterproof version in the colour 'ultra black' as you know I like my glam look!

Pros: It DEFINITELY adds volume to your lashes. Without question this has made my lashes the thickest they've looked in just one coat (although I add about 3, because I like it that way).
It also is easy to remove (a lot easier than Benefit's They're Real, and the consistency is quite similar).

Cons: Big con for me...this mascara didn't lengthen my lashes at all really. What I need in a mascara is lengthening and volumising combined, which in fairness this mascara never claimed. 

So basically, if you already have long lashes this mascara could be the absolute dream! 
I'm definitely going to purchase a lengthening mascara like Max Factor Masterpiece and then add a layer of this on top and hopefully achieve better results. I am a huge fan of using two different mascaras at once anyway!

Rating: 6/10

REVIEW: Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara

Saturday, 7 February 2015

Friday, 16 January 2015

A Beauty Bible

 


Hey guys, hope you're well. Today I'm just quickly going to talk about something that I've recently acquired and am in love with.
I first heard about this book from Becca Rose on YouTube, who got this as a Christmas present.
'Pretty Honest' is written by Sali Hughes, a beauty journalist who is very experienced in the industry, trying and testing hundreds of products, and she really knows her stuff. Her own website is branded as 'a site for opinionated, smart women who just happen to love beauty with a passion.' 

She cuts the crap and basically tells you what works, and what doesn't, as well as the best brands for certain beauty/makeup items. In the first few pages she also addresses and tackles the issue that women are branded shallow, vein, or simply more unintelligent for wearing makeup compared to those who choose to go bare faced on a daily basis. She explains that makeup can make women feel more powerful and ready for their day, and that some women (like me) love the part of the day which they can apply their makeup, choosing a different makeup look from one day to the next. That is what feminism is all about- freedom. Freedom to wear makeup, or not to. We are NOT betraying women and obeying society/men for wearing it. High five Sali.

If you are a beauty lover or even if you're not and just want useful tips this book would benefit you. Topics include how to choose the right foundation, your skin type, anti-ageing, brows, bridal, maternity makeup, salon etiquette and how to give and receive compliments. A great book for coming-of-age teens to the mature woman. My Mum's even got her own copy now after flicking through the pages of mine.


I picked up the hardcover version on Amazon (link) where it's being sold for around the £12 mark, and for Kindle it's around £9. It's the number one best-seller for a reason!

A Beauty Bible

Friday, 16 January 2015

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

REVIEW: Lancôme Grandiose- Best Mascara Ever?

Hey everyone! Hope you're well and sorry it's been a little while. I've been so busy!
Whilst I have been away though, I've welcomed a new love into my life...I literally have found the best mascara ever. Lancôme
's Grandiose Mascara.
I would go as far as to say that it is my holy grail mascara, and that's saying a lot.
I'm sure we are all guilty of using the mascara living in the bottom of our bags...the dried out flaky one circa 2013 (I'm looking at you Benefit's They're Real) because we just couldn't let them go. But if we're going to spend money on a new mascara, it needs to be good...

The mascara itself is from my favourite mascara brand Lancôme, who have previously won me over with their Hypnose line: Doll Eyes, Drama, Star, etc...so I couldn't wait to try this one.



Grandiose is their new 'reinvention' of mascara, with a 'patent-pending' Swan Neck. This is designed to create full, even, fanned out lashes from corner to corner, adapting to all different eye shapes. It claims to capture even the tiniest inner corner lashes and creates a wide angled fan effect on the lashes, with the brush designed to follow the eye's natural shape, and the wand angled to follow the cheekbone and facial contours. Ooer.

So here's why I love it:The bottle is GORGEOUS, like literally can we appreciate the glass and the flower? It's definitely elegant and looks great on your dressing table. But then there's the wand. My Mum actually asked the woman at the counter 'is the wand meant to look like that?!' because we've never seen one like this before. The woman at the counter told us that it's great because the mascara doesn't dry out easily, which is all to do with the movement of air that gets inside the tube when you remove the wand (and why they say you shouldn't ever pump your mascara or it'll dry out super quickly). So this mascara is actually lasting me so much longer than others. Every time you unscrew the bottle, it mixes the formula too so it won't be clumpy and stays fresh.
The shape of the wand means that when you apply the mascara crossing over your face, you don't smudge any on your nose. 
They really have thought of everything with the design of this mascara it would seem.
I've found the design of the wand means it does actually get every single lash and I've noticed it's especially good on my bottom lashes as it gets to them all without smudging the underneath of my eye. The wand really separates and lengthens the lashes and when you apply a second coat it adds a lot of volume as it's very buildable.
The mascara itself is made from the blackest pigment possible to give you an intense dark eye in just one coat, and the formula is said to be 'innovative' containing Lancôme's exclusive 'Rose-Cell Extract' which condition your lashes, giving them some TLC and helping them grow longer. 

Lastly, I have to mention the staying power of this mascara. It's easier to get off than Benefit's They're Real, but lasts ALL DAY (and night) with no flakiness.


Fundamentally I love this mascara, and I would compare the overall effect and staying power to that of Benefit's They're Real, but it doesn't dry out nearly as quickly and it is easier to remove. It's by far the best mascara I think I've ever tried.
It's definitely not cheap at £24.50 but the staying power and long-lasting formula means it is worth it, but I won't be purchasing this again until payday or my student loan comes in!


'Captivating, eyes are simply Grandiose.' - Lancôme.



Excuse the poor quality of these photos! Better camera coming soon :)

You can buy it from Boots here and also read instructions on 'how to use' haha (cute).

As ever thanks for reading guys and please subscribe on Bloglovin, would literally make my day :) 

REVIEW: Lancôme Grandiose- Best Mascara Ever?

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Saturday, 9 August 2014

Raiding a Friend's Makeup Bag: Hannah's Beauty Favourites

Hello everyone!
Today I'm sat with my friend Hannah, who is also a make-up junkie/lover. When we see each other we love to have a big old sleepover and catch up and compare what product's we've both been loving. I asked Hannah to pick out her favourite 'must have' products from her make-up collection, and thought this would make a nice blog post. This is what she chose...
Left to right: L'Oreal Superliner in black, Collection Lasting Perfection concealer, Benefit's They're Real, Mac Lipstick in 'Chatterbox', Benefit's Porefessional Primer, Burts Bees Lipbalm + Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub. 
The lovely Hannah Bourne!
So as you can see, a lot of these products are well used, but hopefully this just shows they're loved. A lot of these products are also cult classics and favourites of many bloggers and readers, so I won't go into too much detail- just a brief summary of why she loves them.

L'Oreal Super Liner. This liquid eyeliner is a favourite of both of ours actually, even though Hannah wasn't sure about it at first. She was used to using a pen-liner before but now she loves the precision you can get with this (and I agree). It's not a flimsy nib like many other liquid eyeliners. It's only around the £6.99 mark which is so much cheaper than the 'They're Real Push Up' liner which Benefit have released. I do really want to try that liner, but am yet to decide if it's worth the hype because at £18.50, it's super expensive, and plus I can't see how I'd love it more than this! I don't go a day without wearing it and am obsessed with winged eyeliner on the top lid.

Collection's Lasting Perfection concealer. You all know about this concealer. Light and creamy and amazing for undereye circles at only around the £4 mark, it's an absolute bargain and has been beauty bloggers favourite for years. It's said to be a dupe of the Nars concealer (which I reeeally want to try!)
I don't think this does stay on for the promised '16 hours' but it does cover our under eye bags and provides some luminosity. 

Benefit They're Real Mascara.This mascara is our absolute favourite, but at £19.50 a tube it's also not cheap at all, and we both find it dries out so quickly! 
However, a little trick I have discovered with any drying mascara is to run a sink full of hot/very warm water and put your mascaras in it for a while. I'm not sure how long you probably need to leave it but long enough for the water to warm up the inside of the mascara tube and moisten it up again. This really works and adds life to this mascara!

MAC 'Chatterbox' Amplified lipstick is Hannah's go-to lipstick, and she says she wears this pretty much every night out but also sometimes in the day too. It's a lovely strong pink colour which looks amazing both with a tan and without. It's chic and barbie-esque which looks amazing for spring/summer paired with navy colours especially. I'm definitely going to be borrowing this when we go out together next!


The Lush lip scrub is amazing to use before you apply lipstick to make your lips really soft and 'prime' them 'ensuring your makeup glides on and stays on'. It also tastes great too, as does the Mint version Lush sell. According to Hannah, the Burt's Bees is the best lipbalm she's ever come across, with it leaving her lips soft and hydrated for ages (much better than Vaseline). Together she calls them the 'dream team'. 

Benefit Porefessional Primer. Finally we have this primer and Hannah swears by. I do like this product but don't know if it's better than other cheaper alternatives on the market, as it is £24.50. Hannah insists it keeps her makeup on longer than any other primer and it doesn't break either of us out though (which is very important- *cough Body Shop Instablur*) and is a lovely consistency.I have 'normal/combination' skin and Hannah has oily skin and this works great on both of us so I'd recommend it to anyone who isn't tied down on a budget! I'm going to try and get her to get the Body Shop Tea Tree primer next time as I think this would be perfect for oily skin and I've heard so many good things. 

So thanks for reading and hope you found this informative! I love all these products too. My upcoming blogposts will involve disappointing products and ones to avoid in my opinion, I'll be going through my current favourite items, and I'm going to do a 'what's in my make-up bag' (although that will be a very long one ha!) Let me know if there's anything you guys want to particularly see, and remember to please subscribe on Bloglovin to not miss a post! 

Raiding a Friend's Makeup Bag: Hannah's Beauty Favourites

Saturday, 9 August 2014

Latest Instagrams

© Liv Tomlinson. Design by FCD.